• dashboard confessional The Shade of Poison Trees (LP, £14.75)

    label: Cobraside

    First vinyl repressing since 2009, now on black vinyl and at a slightly higher price. The Shade of Poison Trees was the band's fifth studio. The album in its entirety was posted on the band's MySpace page on September 28, 2007, and it was released on October 2, 2007 on Vagrant Records. This album was very much kept a secret, with no news of its development leaking out. The official Vagrant announcement, released on August 16, 2007, stated that The Shade of Poison Trees has been recorded over 10 days in Florida with producer Don Gilmore, who also takes credit for the production of Dashboard Confessional's previous album, Dusk and Summer. The Shade of Poison Trees was heralded as a return to form, so to speak, breaking away from the electric, full band sound of their previous two albums and returning to the acoustic sound that Carrabba was previously known for. However, the album is unmistakably more mature, as the songs sounded similar to their more recent work, yet without the heavily produced style. The album came a little over a year after the release of Dusk and Summer. "Thick as Thieves" was released as the first single off the album in August 2007. On August 22, 2007, the band posted "Little Bombs" on their MySpace page. On September 25, the band added "Keep Watch for the Mines" to their MySpace page; later that evening, the album leaked on the boards of the band's official website. As of September 26, 2007, the album leaked onto the Internet. "These Bones" was Dashboard Confessional's second single off the album and was released December 3, 2007. Following its release, The Shade of Poison Trees debuted at number 18 on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart, selling about 48,000 copies in its first week. TRACKLISTING: 01. WHERE THERE'S GOLD... 02. THICK AS THIEVES 03. KEEP WATCH FOR THE MINES 04. THESE BONES 05. FEVER DREAMS 06. THE SHADE OF POISON TREES 07. THE RUSH 08. LITTLE BOMBS 09. I LIGHT MY OWN FIRES NOW 10. MATTERS OF BLOOD AND CONNECTION 11. CLEAN BREAKS 12. THE WIDOWS PEAK

    Add to order