• liftmen The Liftmen (LP, £15.25)

    label: Twisted Nerve

    This unlikely group of pond-life obsessives formed in the confines of a Bristolian industrial lift in 2002. The spawn of the Liftmen's newt-ridden nucleus begs inadequate comparison with the likes of Prag Vec, Tortoise, Thee Headcoatees and Young Marble Giants but sounds a little bit like none of the above. Consisting of core members Rasha Shaheen, Neil Smith, Jamie Whitby-Coles and Jesse D. Vernon, a fully formed Liftmen made their label debut on the pocket sized second-class-tome ‘Now Is The Winter Of Our Discount Tents’ compilation in 2005. Recorded with Portishead’s Jim Barr, and featuring guest vocals courtesy of Tammy Payne (Jukes), The Liftmen’s full length debut is in keeping with the label’s original single-minded and independent non-record label A&R policy of 'releasing music that you wouldn't hear elsewhere'. Consistently jarring with the status quo, their thoroughly unreliable and schizophrenic release schedule fits like a fingerless glove on an octopus whilst embracing the true nature of the independent record label with little regard to the impractical standards of the major music industry.

    Add to order