• mount sims Happily Ever After (CD, £11.95)

    label: hungry eye

    Matt Sims began startling audiences with his unusually provocative performances which were equal amounts political satire, surreal imagery and sensual debauch. The release of Mount Sims's first album Ultrasex, now a cult classic electro-pop album, put Sims on the map internationally with the hit song "Hate Fuck." In 2004, the follow up LP Wild Light was released. This album, with such songs as "No Yellow Lines" and "Urgent Not Urgent", introduced a darker side of Mount Sims. Collaborating with artists David J. of Bauhaus, Roger Manning Jr. (Beck), Echo Angelica Danon (So Does The Fire/E.V.R.) and visual artist Elad Lassery, Wild Light was a landscape of made from themes which touched on the darker side of human nature. After touring extensively throughout Europe as a three-piece band (as opposed to a performance art piece as was the case with Ultrasex) Sims decided on breaking the band up and relocating to Berlin, Germany. It is here that Matt began working on the new incarnation of the band with Randy Twigg on bass, Andre Lange on drums and Thomas Stern of Crime and The City Solution behind the sound and production. A long-distance friendship between Matt and Hungry Eye Records (New York City/Montreal, home of the Bellmer Dolls, Sixteens, the Holy Kiss) led to a collaboration and the release of a limited 12", the A Grave EP, and now the third full length, Happily Ever After. This album is an even further departure from electronic dance music and is creepier and more aggressive in its content than any other Mount Sims album, featuring guest musicians Jessie Evans (Vanishing, Autonervous, Subtonix) and Toby Damit (Swans, Iggy Pop). "Somewhere on the musical map between beauty and chaos." - ReGen Magazine. "It's a post-punk, new-wave, rock-tinged effort that's bathed in doom n' gloom." - Ink 19

    Add to order