• orchestre poly-rythmo de cotonou The Vodoun Effect (double LP, £21.50)

    label: Analog Africa

    Funk & Sato From Benin's Obscure Labels 1973-1975. Following the compilation African Scream Contest - Raw & Psychedelic Afro Sounds from Benin & Togo 70s - which featured several tracks by Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou, including the ground-breaking "Gbeti Madjro" - this new Analog Africa collection now focuses entirely on Orchestre Poly-Rythmo. Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou is arguably West Africas best-kept secret. Their output, both in quantity and quality, was astonishing. During several trips to Benin Samy Ben Redjeb managed to collect roughly 500 songs which Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou had recorded between 1970 and 1983. With so much material to choose from Samy Ben Redjeb decided to split it into Volume 1 and 2. While Volume 2 will be material the band recorded under an exclusive contract with the label Albarika Store, the band also "secretly" recorded with an array of smaller labels based around Cotonou, Benins largest city, and the capital city of Porto Novo. It is those tracks (all officially licensed) that are presented here on Volume 1. In the 44-page booklet, full of rare photographs and record covers, Analog Africa introduces three important producers who were collectively responsible for some of the most amazing music released in Benin: Gratien K. Aissy of the Echos Sonores du Dahomey label, Bernard Dohounzo of Disques Tropiques, Lawani Affissoulayi of Aux Ecoutes, the label behind El Rego & Ses Commandoss fame, as well as en encounter in Niamey with Honliasso Barnabé, Poly-Rythmo's Producer in Niger. Samy Ben Redjeb also interviewed Vincent Ahehehinnou, the man responsible for composing some of the funkiest stuff ever to come out of Benin, and Kineffo Michel, the sound engineer of Poly-Rythmos legendary Nagra "home" recordings. Track Listing: 1. Mi Homlan Dadal 2. Assibavi 3. Se We Non Nan 4. Ako Ba Ho 5. Mi Ni Non Kpo 6. Se Tche We Djo Mon 7. Dis Moi La Verite 8. Nouessename 9. Iya Me Dji Ki Bi Ni 10. Akoue Tche We Gni Medjome 11. Nou De Ma Do Vo 12. Koutoulie 13. Kourougninda Wende 14. Mawa Mon Nou Mio

    Add to order