• girls at our best Pleasure (22-track CD, £8.50)

    label: cherry red

    Girls At Our Best were one of the finest, most life-affirming of a new breed of independent bands who cropped up at the turn of the 80s. Long-standing fan John Peel once referred to them as one of the few groups that made the period bearable. Formed in Leeds from the ashes of legendary original punk band SOS, the group were fronted by distinctive female vocalist Jude Jo Evans, forming a songwriting team with guitarist James Alan and bass player Gerard Swift after they met at art college. All four of their singles for their own Record Records, Rough Trade and Happy Birthday Records are included here as bonus tracks including the wonderful Getting Nowhere Fast (later covered by The Wedding Present), its coruscating b-side Warm Girls, Politics!, Go For Gold and Fast Boyfriends. Also included is a previously unreleased session for BBC DJ Richard Skinner. As a final bonus, there's also a previously unheard virgin demo from the band's very final recording session. And all tracks have been digitally re-mastered from source tapes. The liner notes, by No More Heroes & Independence Days author Alex Ogg, were written with the band, while the artwork incorporates copies of original single sleeves, photographs and memorabilia. TRACKLIST 1. GETTING NOWHERE FAST * 2. WARM GIRLS * 3. POLITICS! * 4. IT'S FASHION * 5. GO FOR GOLD * 6. PLEASURE * 7. TOO BIG FOR YOUR BOOTS 8. I'M BEAUTIFUL NOW 9. WATERBED BABIES 10. FUN-CITY TEENAGERS 11. 600,000 12. HEAVEN 13. CHINA BLUE 14. FAST BOYFRIENDS 15. SHE FLIPPED 16. GOODBYE TO THAT JAZZ 17. THIS TRAIN * * NOT ON ORIGINAL VINYL ALBUM PLUS RICHARD SKINNER BBC SESSION 18. FAST BOYFRIENDS 19. 600,000 20. PLEASURE 21. I'M BEAUTIFUL NOW PLUS UNRELEASED DEMO 22. BOYS AT THEIR BEST! (DEMO)

    Add to order