• sophia There Are No Goodbyes (digipak CD, £9.75)

    label: flowershop

    Robin Proper-Sheppard returns with possibly the most accomplished and yet darkest album of his career as the former God Machine frontman orchestrates his well-known melancholia to tragically beautiful new heights. Accompanied by longtime collaborators Jeff Townsin, William Foster, Adam Franklin (Swervedriver) and Calina de la Mare (string arranger for Tindersticks and Divine Comedy amongst others) There Are No Goodbyes manages to hark back to Sophia’s earlier stripped back bleakness of Fixed Water and Infinite Circle while at the same time looking forward and even beyond the ambitious releases of People Are Like Seasons (2004) and Technology Won’t Save Us (2006). Other guest musicians include Astrid Williamson (Goya Dress/Hope Blister) on the beautiful duet Something, and both Dan Carney (vocals/guitar) and Neil Kleiner (clarinet) of Dark Captain Light Captain on Storm Clouds and Leaving. 'Heartache. It's such a cliche, I know. But this was the one. The one true love I think. I fucked up. In a big way. In a big big way'. Robin Proper-Sheppard. Ecstatic sadness indeed.

    Add to order