• souvenir's young america The Name of the Snake (LP, £10.75)

    label: Init Records

    Richmond, Virginia's Souvenir's Young America present the follow-up to their critically-acclaimed 2007 album An Ocean Without Water. Inspired in part by Rebecca Solnit's Savage Dreams, their third album is a powerful four-song instrumental record about man's often tragic relationship with the past and the present. Not easily classifiable, Souvenir's Young America effortlessly surpass genre restrictions with a unique combination of heavy and ambient guitars layered with harmonica, keyboards, electronics, organs and percussion. These tracks, their first written as a quintet, are epic, emotional narratives that pull the listener in with both crushing and meditative passages. The album was recorded at Sound of Music with John Morand (Labradford, Sparklehorse, Strike Anywhere) and mastered by James Polotkin (Khanate, Sunn O))), Earth, Isis), and features original artwork by Sasha Barr (Sub Pop). The LP version is limited to 500 copies and available on two colours of vinyl. SYA has been a staple in the instrumental rock scene since 2004 with releases on Crucial Blast Records, Protagonist and Underadar. Features members of FORENSICS and ANDUIN. Limited to 500 copies - 200 on white vinyl, 300 on black.

    Add to order