• cave in White Silence (coloured vinyl LP, £18.50)

    label: hydrahead

    Reissue on red marble vinyl + download. TRACKLISTING 1. White Silence (2:47) 2. Serpents (2:53) 3. Sing My Loves (8:18) 4. Vicious Circles (3:20) 5. Centered (3:01) 6. Summit Fever (4:04) 7. Heartbreaks, Earthquakes (3:13) 8. Iron Decibels (4:33) 9. Reanimation (3:41). Cave In's first full length in more than half a decade, White Silence has an energy and a balance that feels like the work of seasoned vets, consummate professionals that have, with great heart, focus and authenticity, honed their songwriting ability in ways we feel fortunate to have witnessed first hand. If you followed the members' individual trajectories after Cave In's undeclared 2005 hiatus, you'd have been witness to a spectrum of songwriting capabilites. Brodsky's singer-songwriter eccentricies, Zozobra's 2-piece metallic power, Cloud's rock energy, and Doomrider's thunderous roll; all tastes of the potential a re-unified Cave In might present. 2009's Planets of Old was a four song return to form, a small taste of what Cave In were capable of producing with so much experience under their individual and collective belts. And produce they have. White Silence exudes the feeling that what matters to them is, and perhaps always has been, what happens when these four come together. We see Cave In and White Silence spatially, formed by each member's own locus of control. It all seems to make so much sense, really. White Silence brings a focused sense of dynamic and a variety that owes everything to the band's collective ability to do it all. The album's driving intro and delicate conclusion bookend a collection of tracks that thrill.

    Add to order