• drugstore Collector Number One (CD, £4.75)

    label: global warming

    Now available at super low price. Named in honour of filmmaker Gus Van Sant's indie classic Drugstore Cowboy, the dark, atmospheric British-based trio Drugstore formed in London in 1993. The group was led by vocalist/bassist Isabel Monteiro, an expatriate Brazilian who relocated to the UK in 1990; after singing in a number of short-lived groups, she eventually teamed up with drummer and Los Angeles native Mike Chylinski, and soon Drugstore began to take shape. Claiming to hate her haunting, smoky voice, Monteiro insisted that the fledgling group test other singers, but when none of the auditions proved suitable, she grudgingly agreed to handle vocal chores. After originating as a thrash outfit, Drugstore's sound gradually grew slower and more dreamy, hotwiring their music's languid psychedelic beauty with crashing waves of distortion and white noise. Instead of recording a demo, the group issued their debut single, "Alive", on their own Honey label in the spring of 1993. After a flurry of critical acclaim, the follow-up, "Modern Pleasure", appeared as an instalment in the Rough Trade Singles Club series. Inviting guitarist Daron Robinson to join the group full-time, Drugstore soon signed to Go-Discs!; after issuing the Starcrossed EP at the beginning of 1995, their stunning self-titled debut album followed later in the year. This CD is a collection of some of their best moments including the Thom Yorke collaboration “El President”. Tracklisting: Say Hello, Tourniquet, Starcrossed, What every girl should know, Gravity, Devil, Wayward Daughter, Untitled, Mike talks, When the bottle is dry, 1000 blue caribou, Accelerate, El President, Xmas in the Arctic Pole

    Add to order