• pulse emitter Crater Lake (LP, £17.95)

    label: Immune

    Pulse Emitter (Daryl Groetsch) has been crafting his unique take on cosmic synth music for nearly a decade with sold out releases on Digitalis, Gift Tapes, Root Strata, NNA Tapes, Aguirre and Tranquility Tapes. Crate Lake is pressed on high quality virgin vinyl and packaged in a full colour jacket featuring cover artwork from William Hutchinson. A free download coupon is included. Crater Lake was mastered and cut to vinyl by Andreas [LUPO] Lubich in Berlin and is the first Pulse Emitter album released by Immune following the side-long contribution to Immune’s 2012 Record Store Day 4 way split release. Writer David Keenan has called Pulse Emitter “the undisputed king of planetary scale synth hypnosis” and has said, “no one is making synth music that feels so organic, so rapturous and so ‘in tune’ with the contours of outer and inner space as Groetsch.” Inspiration for Crater Lake came from a spiritually moving camping trip Groetsch took to Crater Lake National Park in Oregon where he found it to be one of the most stunningly beautiful places he had ever been. At the time he was conceptualizing an album inspired by the moons of Jupiter and Saturn and noticing similarities between the features of Crater Lake and the moons caused Groetsch to create an album influenced by both the nature in front of him and the cosmos above. On Crater Lake Groetsch delivers his most intricately composed pieces yet by experimenting with melody and pattern synchronization. Groetsch’s working method begins with conceptualizing each piece and then composing on paper, MIDI sequencing the tracks, synth programming, and finally recording and mixing. Album opener “Europa” was inspired by the clear blue water of Crater Lake and also relates to the icy surface of the moon Europa that is believed to have an ocean of water underneath it. The album’s second track “lo” is about Crater Lake’s ominous and harsh rock outcrop as well as the volcanic forces taking place underneath Crater Lake and the volcanoes on the moon. Tracklisting: 1. Europa 2. lo 3. Enceladus 4. Titan

    Add to order