• built to spill Untethered Moon (LP, £16.95)

    label: ATP Recordings

    Built to Spill are one of the most endearing and enduring rock bands of its generation and 'Untethered Moon' is their eighth studio album. However, it is the first to be recorded with new band members Steve Gere (drums) and Jason Albertini (bass), who join vocalist/guitarist Doug Martsch plus guitarists Brett Netson and Jim Roth. The album is produced by Martsch and Sam Coomes. The latter is one half of Quasi and also a session musician who has performed on albums by Sleater-Kinney and Elliott Smith and appeared on every Built To Spill release since their 1997 major-label debut, 'Perfect From Now On'. Doug Martsch has been writing and recording music for 25 years, while his fellow BTS members have all been musicians for at least two decades. Martsch's strong work aesthetic combined with each band members' rich experience creates a fascinating aural topography, with Martsch setting course and navigating and each member coming to the music with a different set of expectations and ideals. “Martsch and his bandmates continue to make dense, driving rock with good old-fashioned chords and melodies, and for this we should all be grateful.” - Rolling Stone. "Doug Martsch is a visionary" - New York Post. Tracks: All Our Songs / Living Zoo / On The Way / Some Other Song / Never Be The Same / C.R.E.B. / Another Day / Horizon To Cliff / So / When I'm Blind

    Add to order