• whistlejacket Oh Brother / What I Ate On Sunday (LP, £14.50)

    label: fierce panda

    Whistlejacket release a limited edition vinyl album which brings together their two digital EP releases thus far, ‘Oh Brother’ and ‘What I Ate On Sunday’, in one giant tsunami of neo-grunge fuzzrock sound. If alt.radio smashes like ‘Stay-N’ and ‘Holiday’ indicated a shimmering, low-slung face-off between Teenage Fanclub and Sonic Youth then the four-song ‘Oh Brother’ EP fittingly saw the quintet growing up, adding groovy motorik undercurrents and trashy wig-outs to their already pretty darned tempestuous indierock template with tracks like ‘Oh Brother’ and ‘Hotter Than Heaven’. It makes sense, too: over the past year Whistlejacket have shared stages with the frenetically cosmic likes of Diiv, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Yuck and Bully and stealthily worked the London underground scene with shows for Moth Club, Bad Vibrations, Club Fandango and John Kennedy’s X-posure as well as their own admirable DIY promoting endeavours. Tracklisting 
1. Oh Brother 
2. GB Ache 
3. Hotter Than Heaven 
4. March Hare 
5. Holiday 
6. Trying My Best 
7. Stay-N 
8. We Don’t Make ‘em (Like American Girls) 
9. Duck Soup

    Add to order