• title tracks Long Dream (LP, £17.50)

    label: Ernest Jenning Record Co.

    Title Tracks is a trio from Washington, D.C. that features guitarist/singer and songwriter John Davis (who has also played in the bands Georgie James, Q And Not U, and Paint Branch), bassist Michael Cotterman (The Loved Ones, Kid Dynamite, Dave Hause) and drummer Elmer Sharp (Roofwalkers). Title Tracks’ album, “Long Dream” is its third, all of which have been released by The Ernest Jenning Record Co. Title Tracks’ first two albums, “It Was Easy” (2010) and “In Blank” (2011), came in quick succession and were followed with significant touring through the United States and Europe, including shows with the likes of Ted Leo, Pretty and Nice, Tommy Keene, The Paul Collins Beat and many others. The five year gap between “In Blank” and “Long Dream” was due to a variety of life changes that emerged for different band members (babies, a new drummer, new careers, other bands), all of which find their way into the words and atmosphere of “Long Dream.” Finding time between parenting duties, graduate school classes, and a new career as a Performing Arts archivist at the University of Maryland, Davis wrote the 10 songs on “Long Dream” during late hours alone at the band’s practice space. Whether it’s the hurtling sprint of “I Don’t Need To Know,” the arpeggiated atmospherics of “Empty Heavens,” or the urgent power pop of “Low Cool,” nearly every song on the album refers to dreams in their many forms - lucid, feverish, aspirational, broken, or realised. Borne out of a brief period of major changes (and sleep deprivation), it became an unintentional concept album. “Long Dream” was produced by Nick Anderson (More Humans, The Tender Thrill) who has co-produced or produced all three Title Tracks albums. Tracklisting: 1) Low Cool 2) I Don’t Need To Know 3) Empty Heavens 4) Don’t Start 5) Not Enough Too Soon 6) Protect Yourself 7) Peaceful Uses 8) Circle You 9) When You Come Back 10) False Awakening

    Add to order