• secret goldfish Petal Split (LP, £15.95)

    label: Creeping Bent Organisation

    THE SECRET GOLDFISH release their first album for 18 years. The album has had a lengthy gestation period, with recording starting in 2000 and finally being completed in late 2016. Petal Split features seven songs written by McCullars / Morose, a collaboration with Davy Henderson (Fire Engines / The Nectarine No9 / Sexual Objects), and covers of Outrageous Things (Vic Godard) and Ain’t That Always The Way (Edwyn Collins). The Secret Goldfish were formed in 1994 by McCullars and Turnbull, who as teenagers had been involved in the C86 scene via Fizzbombs and Mackenzies. They released their debut album (Aqua-Pet) in 1996 and followed it in 1999 with Mink Riots, which featured contributions by Francis Macdonald (Teenage Fanclub) and Stevie Jackson (Belle & Sebastian). The Secret Goldfish recorded two sessions for John Peel’s BBC Radio 1 show, which resulted in Peel inviting the group to perform at the Meltdown Festival he curated on London’s South Bank in 1999. Shortly afterwards the Goldfish played their last gig, again in London, as guests of Vic Godard & Edwyn Collins. However, the Secret Goldfish made their return to the stage for the first time in 16 years, with new guitarist James Kirk in tow, when they played with labelmates The Nectarine No9 in Glasgow in Jan 2016. They followed this with a performance with Subway Sect in June, at a Creeping Bent curated event in the Centre for Contemporary Arts in Glasgow. Katy McCullars – Vocals, John Morose - Guitars / Keys, Steven McSeveney – Bass, Paul Turnbull – Drums. Track list: A side 1. O! Pioneers 2. Amelia Star 3. Not a Phonecall to a Stranger 4. X 5. Winter Tears #2 B side 1. Outrageous Things 2. Good Kissers 3. El Capitan & Mi 4. A Different Game 5. Ain't That Always the Way

    Add to order