• saint pé Fixed Focus (CD, £10.75)

    label: Ernest Jenning Record Co.

    In 2014, after 10 years of touring the world in Black Lips and Diamond Rugs, guitarist and vocalist St. Pé needed a change. He packed up his gear and moved to Nashville, where he settled down in a log cabin formerly owned by country legend Roy Acuff. Before long, that home turned into a studio, and with the help of a number of friends ‘Fixed Focus’ was born. It’s less a departure from the sounds of the Lips and Rugs as it is an informed continuation of them that maintains all the hooks and pop sensibilities of his previous acts, while refining them with a bit of Nashville class and a hint of the darkness that ten years on the road imbues upon the soul. From sing-along stompers to Southern Gothic explorations, ‘Fixed Focus’ is a fully formed solo debut that sounds more like an album from deep into an established career. Debut record from former member of Black Lips & Diamond Rugs, mixed by Mat Boynton (Kurt Vile, MGMT) & mastered by Joel Hatstat (Bomb The Music Industry, Maserati). Album announcement & single coverage on The Skinny, Paste (“a driving, grooving garage-rock number spiked with just the right amount of snottiness,”) Noisey (“as poppy as anything that the guitarist has put together before,”) Northern Transmissions, & Mxdwn. Past coverage on Paste (‘The 20 Best Bands We Saw at SXSW 2016’) & Vinyl Mag. Tracklisting 

1. Street Lights
2. Renowned Movement
3. Kiss It Goodbye
4. Dawn of Tomorrow
5. Carbon Maker
6. Sweet Laurel
7. Got the Look
8. Southern Sunshine
9. Spun and Spurn
10. As of Late
11. Yesteryear Gone
12. Burning Bright

    Add to order