• tricot 3 (LP, £15.75)

    label: Big Scary Monsters

    Japanese alternative-rock band Tricot have signed to Big Scary Monsters Records. Formed in the historical and culturally rich city of Kyoto, Japan in 2010, the three-piece have gained a steadily-growing following with their high-energy live shows throughout Asia, Europe and North America over the past few years, recently supporting The Pixies in the UK. Singing in their native Japanese and utilising unpredictable song transitions, melodic post-rock-inspired sounds and jazz-influenced instrumental breaks, they’re an enticing prospect for avant-garde music fans and are renowned for their vibrant and intense live performances. They’ve drawn on a wide variety of rock scenes, from slow-burning American post-rock to bustling Fukuoka’s frantic indie-rock, to create guitar-centric songs that constantly pivot in new directions. With their current line-up featuring founding members Ikkyu Nakajima, Motoko “Motifour” Kida, and Hiromi “Hirohiro” Sagane, Tricot’s unusual and distinctive sound harmonises pop sensibilities and emotional vocals with complex rhythms and time-signatures that fans of Battles, Speedy Ortiz and Don Caballero should fall instantly in love with. “The Japanese trio making math rock cool again” – The Fader. “Flips from sprightly to a sprawling rage on a knife-edge” - NME. Tracklisting 

1. Tokyo Vampire Hotel
2. Wabi-Sabi
3. Yosoiki
4. DeDeDe
5. Sukima
6. Pork Side
7. Pork Ginger
8. Echo
9. 18,19
10. Namu
11. Munasawagi
12. Setsuyakuka
13. Melon Soda

    Add to order