• elvis perkins The Blackcoat's Daughter: Original Motion Picture Score (180g vinyl LP, £21.50)

    label: Death Waltz Recording Co.

    Originally titled FEBRUARY, Osgood Perkins’ debut film was a festival hit in 2015 and has now been picked up for wider distribution by A24 under a new title, THE BLACKCOAT'S DAUGHTER. The film is a bleakly desolate slow burn, harking back to such classics as ROSEMARY'S BABY & LET'S SCARE JESSICA TO DEATH with its brooding atmosphere and emphasis on perpetual unease and dread rather than jump scares. It’s a remarkable debut, signalling the arrival of a real talent. The soundtrack was written by Elvis Perkins (Osgood’s younger brother, who released the critically acclaimed albums ASH WEDNESDAY & DEARLAND). Here he has created a dark eerie masterpiece that fuses classic 1970s horror soundtrack tropes with his traditional folk roots and jazz infused inflections of Angelo Badalamenti. Forgoing synth work for traditional instruments and an experimental atonal vibe, its beguiling, otherworldly, and not of its time, which is exactly why it sounds so vital right now. This soundtrack is a rare beast indeed, uninterested in instant gratification and providing an easy one shot listen; this is a score to be savoured and pored over many times. TRACKLISTING: 1. Incantation {The Blackcoat's Daughter} 01:28 2. Rose Dream 01:10 3. Against The Stream 01:17 4. In The Garden 01:53 5. The Fire Light 01:09 6. Forget Me Not 01:57 7. Pregnant Pause 01:11 8. Maidhood 00:38 9. Sickle & Gnomon 01:07 10. To The Furnace Room 02:27 11. Ablution 00:53 12. Believe In God 01:33 13. Sharpen The Blade 00:47 14. You Had Your Chance 02:24 15. Crossing Days 00:59 16. Mare's Milk 01:19 17. Snow Graves 01:55 18. In Sunday Best 00:26 19. Dial The Darkestra / Draked / Dream Redux 06:08 20. Roseblud 04:39 21. Trail of Blood / Hail / Open the Door Lucifer 04:31 22. His Majesty 02:19 23. Fatherless Child / You Will Go From This Place 02:51 24. In The Mourning Light 00:50 25. Outcantation {The Blackcoat's Daughter} 01:04. Artwork by Jay Shaw. Vinyl limited to 200 copies. Includes download card.

    Add to order