• frankie rose Cage Tropical (splatter vinyl LP, £15.75)

    label: slumberland

    White+gold splatter edition. Frankieís 4th album is awash with vintage synths, painterly effects pedals, upside down atmosphere and reverberating vocals. It evokes a new wave paranormality of sorts that drifts beyond the songs themselves. "My references arenít just music," says Frankie, "I love old sci-fi. They Live is one of my favourite movies ever, same with Suspiria. 80ís sci-fi movies with a John Carpenter soundtrack, with silly synths Ė that makes it into my file, to the point that Iíll write lyrics incorporating that kind of stuff. Itís in there." Beginning with the shimmery, cinematic and percussive sparkling of the albumís opening track "Love in Rockets," the songís refrain of "a wheel, a wheel of wasting my life: a wheel, a wheel of wasting my time" immediately alludes to those darker circumstances that led to the creative origins of Cage Tropical. "Itís all essentially based on what happened to me in Los Angeles and then a return to Brooklyn," says Frankie. "Misery turned into something good. The whole record to me is a redemption record and it is the most positive one Iíve made" "I feel like I am finally free from worrying about an outcome. I donít care. I already lost everything. I already had the worst-case scenario. When that happens, you do become free. In the end, itís about me rescuing myself via having this record." Tracklisting 

1. Love In Rockets
2. Dyson Sphere
3. Trouble
4. Art Bell
5. Dancing Down The Hall
6. Cage Tropical
7. Game To Play
8. Red Museum
9. Epic Slack
10. Decontrol

    Add to order