• seth lakeman Ballads of the Broken Few (Deluxe Edition) (CD, £10.75)

    label: cooking vinyl

    Since the Mercury Prize nominated "Kitty Jay" (recorded in his kitchen for £300), the follow-up gold selling "Freedom Fields" and his last, highly acclaimed offering, "Word of Mouth", a deft collection of mini musical biographies of colourful West Country characters, Seth Lakeman has relentlessly pushed his musical boundaries and those of folk and roots music. With "Ballads of the Broken Few", his eighth studio album, Seth demonstrates yet again that, far from being complacent, he is constantly exploring new and bold musical paths. The Top 20 album is being re-released with five bonus tracks which include the single, ‘Everything’. Seth says…’Everything’ is a song about cherishing moments and the realisation that nothing lasts forever. The album is a stunning combination of Seth’s dynamic song writing and playing, produced by Ethan Johns (Ryan Adams, Kings of Leon, Laura Marling) and the sublime harmony vocals of female trio Wildwood Kin. Seth’s soaring vocals are perfectly complimented by the seamless harmonies of Wildwood Kin - two sisters (Emillie and Beth Key) and their cousin (Meghann Loney), also from Devon. When Seth met them at a local charity gig, he was immediately struck by their effortless ability to create intuitive harmonies. Tracklisting: 1. Willow Tree
2. Silence Reigns
3. Meet Me In The Twilight
4. Stranger
5. Fading Sound
6. Ballad Of The Broken Few
7. Anna Lee
8. Innocent Child 9. Whenever I’m Home
10. Silver Threads
11. Pulling Hard Against The Stream
12. Gambling Man
13. Everything
14. Days Are Longer
15. Wake Up
16. Bury Me Deep

    Add to order