• cassels Epithet (LP, £12.75)

    label: Big Scary Monsters

    For Cassels, music is about authenticity and in Epithet, their debut full-length LP, they've got it in spades. Fuelled by the injustices of everything from modern society to the hypocrisy of small town England, they are young, driven and vastly intelligent, refreshingly unafraid to shatter the status quo. They're antagonistic and brash, but more importantly, they challenge the norm, both musically and lyrically. If you're after something simple, pedestrian and safe this isn't the record for you. But for those of you who like their music challenging, unpredictable and with lots to say, then Cassels might just be your new favourite band. On the 1st August 2017, the band released two singles on the same day - 'Coup' and 'Let' via Upset and Dork Magazine (online). The hotly tipped London duo have picked up praise and coverage from the likes of NME, BBC Radio 1, 6 Music and Channel 4, as well as Radiohead's Colin Greenwood. As Punktastic puts it, 'there’s little emerging from the British underground that comes close to mirroring Cassels’ style. They have also been played on BBC Introducing and Amazing Radio amongst others. 'They’ve shared stages with the likes of Self Defense Family, Johnny Foreigner, Tall Ships, Car Seat Headrest and Beach Slang and toured with Meat Wave. Tracklisting 

1. Coup
2. Let
3. War Is A Really Clever Metaphor For Divorce
4. Where Baseball Was Invented
5. You Turn On Utopia
6. Sepia Good Times
7. This Song Has A Name But We Don't Like To Talk About It
8. Motor Skills
9. Chewed Up Cheeks

    Add to order