• brand new Science Fiction (double LP, £28.75)

    Critically acclaimed rock band Brand New drop their long-anticipated fifth album onto an unsuspecting and very patient audience. Released on the band’s own Procrastinate! Music Traitors label the album is produced by longtime collaborator Mike Sapone. Science Fiction is Brand New’s first new studio album since 2009’s Daisy. Released just digitally so far by the band the album became their first ever No. 1 on the US Billboard 200 album chart on downloads and streams alone. Science Fiction also gave Brand New its Biggest Sales Week in Nearly 11 Years and in addition was their First No. 1 on the Top Rock Albums and Alternative Albums Charts in the USA. Other US album stats include: The band’s first No. 1 on the Billboard 200 comes nearly a decade and a half after the Long Island rockers’ first appearance on the Billboard charts and is just the third chart-topper for a rock act in 2017, following Arcade Fire’s Everything Now and Linkin Park’s One More Light Science Fiction Is the First Independently Distributed Album to Reach No. 1 on the Billboard 200 in 2017 It Took 14 Years, Two Months and Four Days for Brand New to Get to No. 1 That’s the amount of time it took Brand New to snag its first No. 1 on the Billboard 200 since its first appearance on the chart. Deja Entendu, the band’s second album, debuted on the Billboard 200 on July 5, 2003. The last act to wait longer for its first No. 1 was David Bowie, when Blackstar debuted at No. 1 on Jan. 30, 2016 - 43 years, nine months and 15 days after he debuted on the list with Hunky Dory on April 15, 1972. ‘Let’s hope this isn’t the end. Yet if it is what a way to go out’ – Kerrang! KKKK. ‘One of the rock albums of the year, and if it is the case - as is rumoured - that it's their last, then it's also a perfect swan song’ – The Line Of Best Fit 9/10. ‘Compelling, cutting and contemplative in equal measure, riddled with Easter Eggs to satisfy older fans and written with song-writing prowess that’ll appeal to the new’. So if the band that wanted to stay eighteen forever decides to do so next year, so be it. This fresh part of their legacy is just as built to last’ – Drowned In Sound 8/10. Tracklisting 

1. Lit Me Up
 2. Can’t Get It Out 
3. Waste
 4. Could Never Be Heaven
 5. Same Logic/Teeth
 6. 137 
7. Out of Mana 
8. In the Water
 9. Desert
 10. No Control 
11. 451 
12. Batter Up

    Add to order