• terra lightfoot New Mistakes (CD, £10.75)

    With New Mistakes, Canada’s Terra Lightfoot offers up something rare: the kind of genuine document that can only come from a road-tested breed of songwriter and performer. Shot through with the guitarist-vocalist’s powerful, bluesy soul, vivid lyrics and ferocious six-string virtuosity, it’s an unforgettable outing. From the ground-shaking stomp of “Paradise” and wild-eyed energy of “Pinball King” that open the set to the psychedelic, gospel-tinged album closer “Lonesome Eyes,” the steel town native’s third record distills her masterful talent to its electrifying essence. Produced by Gus van Go and Werner F (Arkells, Sam Roberts Band, Wintersleep), New Mistakes is a heady journey. As poignant as it is rollicking and vulnerable as it is rowdy, it cruises long and sometimes lonesome highways that lead everywhere from broken down dive bars and endless prairie skies to mountain ranges and the Mojave Desert. “Lightfoot crafts ballads and barnburners that hearken back to the past, delivered with fresh energy.” – BUST. "A monster talent that will be gracing the world’s largest stages in no time” - PopMatters. Produced by Produced by Gus van Go and Werner F. [Said the Whale, The Trews], and Noah Mintz [Death from Above 1979, Danko Jones].

    Add to order