• tracy bonham Modern Burdens (CD, £11.50)

    Tracy Bonham's major label debut, The Burdens of Being Upright (Island), achieved gold record status in 1996, spawning the chart topping hit single Mother Mother on Alternative Rock Radio. This led to a pair of Grammy nominations and an MTV Video Award nomination. Soon after her world tour had ended promising this album, the music business shifted and changed, and Bonham was told to retreat to write and rewrite her subsequent album. By the time her second album was released in 2000, her record label, Island Records (turned Island-Def Jam) was mostly unrecognisable. She released the arty and angry Down Here to critical acclaim but it did not enjoy commercial success. In 2003, after moving to Los Angeles, Bonham became the featured vocalist / violinist on Blue Man Group's The Complex Tour and How To Be A Megastar 2.0 (2006). In 2005 Bonham released her third album Blink The Brightest (Rounder/ Zo'). This was her most commercial sounding album and several of the songs were featured in tv shows and movies such as The L Word, Weeds, and Sexting In Suburbia. In 2010, after moving back to Brooklyn and marrying Rolling Stone editor Jason Fine, Bonham released Masts of Manhatta. This album won accolades from major publications and landed her her second appearance on The Tonight Show With Jay Leno and The Late Late Show With Craig Ferguson. In 2015, Bonham released her fifth album entitled Wax & Gold with the help of Pledge Music and her fans. Wax & Gold was very well received by the public and the press. The album showed a maturity in songwriting, as well as an evolved vocal style, that makes Bonham stand out as a serious artist with a unique talent. Bonham is an artist who continues to create and grow no matter what obstacles are in her path. Tracy recorded her sixth album, Modern Burdens, partnering up with Pledge Music once again, to completely re-imagine her over-twenty-year-old debut album. She is joined by other strong female artists (Tanya Donelly, Rachael Yamagata, Kay Hanley, Sadie DuPuis, Kathryn Calder, Angie Hart, Nicole Atkins) on lead vocals - an intentional message of solidarity and strength for women everywhere during the Trump era. Track Listing: 01. Mother Mother 02. Navy Bean 03. Tell It to the Sky (feat. Nicole Atkins) 04. Kisses (feat. Rachael Yamagata) 05. Brain Crack (feat. Kathryn Calder) 06. The One 07. One Hit Wonder 08. Sharks Can't Sleep (feat. Tanya Donelly) 09. Bulldog 10. Every Breath (feat. Kay Hanley) 11. 30 Seconds (feat. Angie Hart) 12. The Real (feat. Sadie Dupuis) 13. Free

    Add to order