• son lux Brighter Wounds (LP, £9.25)

    label: city slang

    Son Lux reemerge with their fifth full-length LP, which finds the trio in command of a daring, multidirectional sound, expressing naturally the proclivity for surprise and contrast that characterise the project's output. The release explores the violence of love, the beauty of sacrifice, and the spectre of impermanence. Anchored by its cinematic heart, “All Directions”, the album ranges from the thunderous charge of “Dream State” to the sputtering, soulful lilt of “Slowly”. Ryan Lott’s devastating vocal on "Aquatic", guitarist Rafiq Bhatia’s blooming flower melismas on "Labor", and drummer Ian Chang’s nearly inhuman rhythmic calculus on "The Fool You Need" illuminate a curious and delicate balance of precision and pain. Since 2015’s Bones, the band's profile has grown in the worlds of music, dance, and film. Each member now charts their respective solo paths, and their individual adventures find a home within the purview of Son Lux. On Brighter Wounds, collaborators range from longtime cohorts Rob Moose (Y Music, Bon Iver, The National) and DM Stith (Sufjan Stevens), to new friends trumpeter Dave Douglas and reed player/instrument builder Arrington de Dionyso. Son Lux has made invention its hallmark through continued exploration and experimentation. With Brighter Wounds, the triad NPR proclaimed “the world’s most lethal band" now grips exhilaration and heartache in full embrace. In the words of the album's closing refrain, "is this what the resurrection feels like?" TRACKLISTING: A1. Forty Screams A2. Dream State A3. Labor A4. Slowly A5. The Fool You Need B1. All Directions B2. Aquatic B3. Surrounded B4. Young B5. Resurrection

    Add to order