• howe gelb Further Standards (LP, £15.95)

    label: fire

    The Standard Of Further: "After a year of taking these new piano standards on the road, we now have a better sense of how they roll off the fingertips. As we enter our second year performing these pieces from “Future Standards”, the material has taken on the sonic patina of precisely the intention of the title. This new album now takes inventory by adding Lonna Kelley to several of the original tracks from “Future Standards” to ‘up’ the previous standard. Further, it offers evidence of how these standards hold up live in concert one recent steamy night in London. But first this new album begins with 2 new songs: “Presumptuous”, recorded with mute piano and whispered warble, suggests heartbreak is a setup from the get go. “All You Need to Know”, playfully interrogates the notion of love with suggested orchestration and yip. This album is meant to evoke its own lush standard a little further down the road in a future just a breadth beyond now." - Howe Gelb, October 2017. “Further Standards” featuring: Lonna Kelley on Vocals, Howe Gelb on Vocals & Piano, Thøger Lund on Bass, Andrew Collberg on Drums, Naim Amor on Guitar. Track Listing: 1. Presumptuous 2. All you Need to Know 3. Clear* 4. Irresponsible Lovers* 5. Impossible Thing* 6. Relevant* 7. Sweet Confusion** 8. Clear** 9. May You Never Fall In Love** 10. Irresponsible Lovers** 11. A Book You've Read Before** 12. Ownin' It** 13. Terribly So** Download Extras 1. Not the End of the World 2. Gypse Candle 3. Severe Seasons.. * means recycled track. ** means live version. LP + download card included.

    Add to order