• skull defekts The Skull Defekts (CD, £14.25)

    label: thrill jockey

    After thirteen years as one of the centrepieces of Sweden’s experimental rock scene, The Skull Defekts return with their final album.  The Skull Defekts are known for merging the coarse vitality of punk with the ritualism of folk dances to create music that is addictive, wondrously discordant and rooted in a belief in the overwhelming power of pure sound.  Their final, self-titled album is the band’s most composed effort to date and features new member Mariam Wallentin (Wildbirds And Peacedrums) joining core members Joachim Nordwall (founder of groundbreaking iDEAL Recordings), Daniel Fagge Fagerström (8 Days Of Nothing) and Henrik Rylander (Union Carbide Productions).  Cover artwork by Daniel Higgs (Lungfish).  “A primordial force, promising liberation through obliteration.” - The Quietus.  “Not many bands in recent memory have been able to combine noise and otherworldly sonics with the sweat and hot breath of punk rock. The Skull Defekts have mastered it, boiled it down and resurrected it. For the sake of humanity, here’s hoping it burrows its way into more ears.” - Paste.  “This band are masters of their craft” - The Line of Best Fit.

    Add to order