• majeure Timespan Redux (double LP, £17.50)

    label: Temporary Residence Ltd.

    Majeure is the alter ego of A.E. Paterra, drummer for seminal sci-fi prog explorers Zombi, and Timespan is his debut release. Taking the term full-length quite literally, the album is made up of three epic, side-long journeys through time and space. Merging the darkness of Vangelis's Blade Runner-era Moog-driven scores and the stately minimalism of Steve Reich and Philip Glass with the relentless drive of Can and Silver Apples, Timespan delivers inspiring sci-fi disco of the highest caliber. Written, recorded and painstakingly produced by Paterra over an 18-month period, Majeure is unique in its careful collaboration of live and electronic sounds. Anchored by Paterra's sturdy, propulsive live drums, each song uses layers of analogue synthesisers to masterfully craft extended compositions that virtually stop time before speeding it up, culminating in countless moments of genuine majesty. A completely new mix and master of the long out-of-print debut album from MAJEURE. Features founding member of ZOMBI and CONTACT. “A welcome and exhilarating breath of fresh air.” – Pitchfork // A decade ago, Zombi cofounder A.E. Paterra conceived his solo endeavour, Majeure. Released in 2009, the debut album, Timespan, took the term “full-length” quite literally – its 40-minute runtime filled by three epic, side-long journeys through time and space. It merged the sinister soundtracks of Vangelis and John Carpenter, the stately minimalism of Cluster and Ash Ra Tempel, and the relentless drive of Tangerine Dream and Jean-Michel Jarre, delivering inspired sci-fi disco-prog of the highest calibre. Originally released on 2xCD and 2xLP, Timespan quickly sold out on both formats and has been out-of-print for nearly a decade since. To celebrate its 10th anniversary, the album is given an entirely new mix and master for this special-edition reissue. Mixed from the original master files by A.E. Paterra, and remastered by James Plotkin, Timespan Redux improves upon the original in virtually every way. Track Listing 1. The Dresdex Codex (13:16) 2. Teleforce (9:10) 3. Timespan (17:59)

    Add to order