• gentle good Y Gwyfyn (5-track marbled vinyl 12", £10.95)

    Bubblewrap Collective and The Gentle Good are proud to present an EP entirely in the Welsh language to celebrate Welsh Language Music Day 2018. The EP contains brand new tracks and previously unreleased material as well as outtakes and an album track from the Welsh Music Prize winning 'Ruins/Adfeilion'. In keeping with the 'Ruins/Adfeilion' album, themes of the natural world, cultural identity and social justice feature prominently in ‘Y Gwyfyn’ EP. The title track describes a hot summer evening as perceived through the senses of a moth, whilst 'Briwsion' (Crumbs) is a critique of social inequality in today's modern world. Fan favourite track 'The Fisherman' (Y Pysgotwr) is reworked into the Welsh language, followed by a brand new recording of traditional Welsh folk song ‘Cariad Cyntaf‘ (First Love). The EP ends with an epic 8-minute instrumental, ‘Golwg y Gwdihw‘ (An Owl’s Eye View), a musical representation of a nocturnal woodland scene originally recorded as part of a project for National Museum Wales. The EP features some of the finest musicians in Wales, including Jack Egglestone on drums, Callum Duggan on bass and Georgia Ruth on vocals. The EP also gives a platform to the stunning string arrangements of Cardiff-based composer Seb Goldfinch, performed beautifully by the Mavron Quartet. Tracklist: 1) Y Gwyfyn 2) Briwsion 3) Y Pysgotwr 4) Cariad Cyntaf 5) Golwg y Gwdihw. Very limited translucent purple marbled vinyl.

    Add to order