• gulfer Dog Bless (LP, £13.95)

    label: Big Scary Monsters

    Gulfer's inception in December of 2011 feels like it occurred a lifetime ago. But that's how it's supposed to feel when the local DIY band is coming up on their sixth release and fifth international tour. Bands like Gulfer simply aren't supposed to last in this world, and they've come too long a way to go unnoticed. Perhaps that's why they just signed to Topshelf Records, Big Scary Monsters and Friend of Mine Records with their second full length record. Predictably, this full length from the Montreal-based quartet is their best work yet. It features a trio of three song movements, each punctuated with electronic compositions much unlike the band's previous work. At 12 songs deep, 'Dog Bless' appears ambitious next to its 2015 predecessor 'What Gives'. But the final product matches the ambition in its eloquent delivery of anthemic, sensibly technical emo. Tracklisting 1. Secret Stuff 2. Doglife 3. Fading 4. Blessed Pt 1 5. Baseball 6. Be Father 7. Babyshoe 8. Blessed Pt 2 9. Judy Froster 10. Florida 11. We've All Done Wrong 12. Blessed Pt 3

    Add to order