• jedi mind tricks The Bridge and the Abyss (CD, £11.50)

    For more than twenty-two years, the name Jedi Mind Tricks has become synonymous with raw, gritty, independent hip-hop. From their debut album, The Psycho-social, in 1996 to their seminal second release, Violent By Design, to their musical expansion on Servants and Heaven, Kings in Hell, JMT has made an indelible impression on the independent music scene while arguably forging its own sub-genre of rap. Led by the fiery vocals of controversial frontman, Vinnie Paz (who has also built an auspicious solo career over the last decade), and the enigmatic producer, Stoupe the Enemy of Mankind, the group has sustained a successful career as a result of its consistently, uncompromising rap music. The duo's ninth studio album features the singles “San La Muerte” and “Marciano’s Reign.” Speaking on the new album, Vinnie Paz, says, “Each time out we face a challenge of not wanting to make the same record, but at the same time doing what we do, which is make hard body rap. I try to balance my ignorant raps with songs that are a little more conceptual and personal. I think we found a nice balance on this album.” JMT’s success can’t be measured in chart positions or platinum plaque counts. Their success is most accurately measured in the passion and respect of their growing legions of hardcore fans who have packed JMT shows around the world from Boston to Bogota to Bucharest. Paz says, “When you see someone with a tattoo of your logo or your album art on their body, that’s a level of dedication that a sales chart can’t possibly capture. We’re blessed to have some of the most dedicated fans in music. We’ve always sort of been music industry pariahs and I think our fans like that we don’t cower to the politics of the business.” JMT’s music embodies the spirit of DIY defiance and their longevity is a testament to their blue-collar work ethic coursing through the bloodlines of their hometown of Philadelphia. TRACKLIST: 1. Al bid-aya featuring Yes Alexander 2. San La Muerte 3. Rashindun Caliphate 4. Freshco & Miz 5. When the Body Goes Cold 6. What She Left Behind 7. Death Toll Rising 8. Shed the Skin to Receive the World (Interlude) featuring Yes Alexander 9. Certified Dope featuring Eamon 10. Hell’s Henchman 11. God Forsaken 12. Legacy of the Prophet featuring Sean Price 13. Void Ritual (Interlude) featuring Yes Alexander 14. You Have One Devil But Five Angels 15. Marciano’s Reign featuring Scott Stallone 16. Torture Chamber featuring CZARFACE 17. The Letter Concerning the Intellect 18. Making a Killing featuring Thea Alana 19. What Falls Is Fallen (Interlude) featuring Yes Alexander

    Add to order