• where the sea meets the sky  (CD, £11.95)

    label: earworm

    A handy opportunity to get an aural cross-section of South London's Earworm imprint, 'Where The Sea Meets The Sky' features contributions from Besnard Lakes, The Earlies, Tunng, Echoboy, Sonic Boom, Woodcraft Folk and others. Erring on the side of guitars, Earworm nonetheless keep their feet firmly in the leftfield electronic camp; with both sides of this duality nicely reflected. Opening with the nu-shoegaze clatter of Canadian duo The Besnard Lakes, Earworm then rattle through the rare-as-hens'-teeth electronic throb of Woodcraft Folk, allow The Eighteenth Day of May to crack open the Vashti Bunyan for some psychedelic folk pop, before Fuxa and Sonic Boom fashion Suicide's 'Girl' into a broiling electro-noir missive. Elsewhere, The Earlies offer up a long out of print b-side in the shape of 'Ride', Tunng get all waterlogged on the release-exclusive 'Jay Down' and Echoboy ferment a dum-dum-da-dum-dum bass with layers of Kevin Shields' trademark bluster.

    Add to order